Shippio

Digital freight forwarding · Last updated 2026-07-29

Notes compiled from publicly available sources. Last updated: 2026-07-29. Every figure is linked to the source it came from and dated. Verify against primary sources before relying on them.

TL;DR

Shippio (株式会社Shippio) is a Tokyo-based company founded in June 2016, originally as サークルイン株式会社 (Circle-in Corp.). It operates Shippio Platform, a set of cloud services for international trade and freight — vessel tracking, trade document handling, quotation and ordering, cost analysis — and is simultaneously a licensed freight forwarder and, through its subsidiary 協和海運, a customs broker.

  • 1,500+ companies use the platform (service site; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29). Since the 2022 Series B, the company reports net revenue ~20x, containers handled ~35x, and platform users ~8x (2025-10-30).
  • Cumulative funding approximately ¥7B, most recently a Series C of ¥3.24B (¥1.87B equity + ¥1.37B debt) closed 2025-10-30, led by DNX Ventures.
  • Headcount is stated as "over 100" by the CEO (2026-01-05); the company says it aims to reach 300 within three years (2025-10-30). Undated third-party profiles are not treated as current point estimates.
  • Backend is Ruby on Rails and Go on AWS, frontend React/TypeScript over GraphQL (Apollo Federation) (TokyoDev profile, Back-End Engineer posting; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29). The engineering team communicates mainly in English; the Back-End Engineer posting requires English and treats Japanese as welcome but not mandatory (recruit FAQ, posting; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29).

Basic

Item Detail Source
Legal name 株式会社Shippio / Shippio, Inc. (founded as サークルイン株式会社 / Circle-in Corp.) company page, 2017-05-08
Founded June 2016 company page
HQ 〒105-0023 東京都港区芝浦一丁目1番1号 BLUE FRONT SHIBAURA TOWER S 9階 (moved 2025-09-01) company page
Osaka branch 〒542-0076 大阪市中央区難波5-1-60 なんばスカイオ 27F WeWork内 company page
Representative 代表取締役 CEO 佐藤 孝徳 (Takanori Sato) company page
Capital ¥840M including capital reserve company page; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29
Headcount "over 100" (CEO new year message) 2026-01-05
Working language Engineering team mainly English; business teams Japanese; English not mandatory company-wide recruit FAQ
Customers 1,500+ companies on the platform service site; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29
Total raised approx. ¥7B cumulative 2025-10-30
Group company 協和海運株式会社 (customs broker, founded 1960, acquired 100% 2022-09-27) company page
Licenses 第一種貨物利用運送事業者(関自貨第1714号); 第二種貨物利用運送事業者(国総国物第107号、国自貨第386号); IATA公認代理店; 国際複合一貫輸送約款(2013); WAYBILL約款(2013) company page
Other registrations Insurance agency registration completed and agency contract signed with Tokio Marine & Nichido 2025-12-22
Security certification ISO/IEC 27001:2022, JQA-IM2002, obtained 2023-05-26; registry shows validity to 2029-05-25 2023-05-31 release, ISMS registry

Memberships and programs: JIFFA 正会員, 日本ロジスティクスシステム協会, 経団連 (joined 2024-10-01), World Cargo Alliance, J-Startup selection (2021-10-21), and 経済同友会, which the CEO joined 2025-10-08. The company took part in the first batch of the Code Republic accelerator, run by YJ Capital and East Ventures, presenting a service called PortHub at its demo day (BRIDGE, 2017-05, 2017-05-08 release).

Awards listed by the company on its company page: 生成AI大賞 2025 特別賞, ニッポン新事業創出大賞 2025 最優秀賞, 日本DX大賞 2025 事業変革部門 大賞, Logistics Tech Startups APAC (2022), LinkedIn Top Startups Japan (2022), Ruby biz Grand prix 2022 大賞. Additionally: DXイノベーション大賞2025 審査員特別賞 (2026-03-17) and Mizuho Innovation Award 2022 3Q (2022-11-25). In the Financial Times / Statista "High-growth companies Asia-Pacific 2026" ranking the company was placed 84th overall and 4th in Logistics & Transportation, where it says it was the only Japanese company (2026-03-24).

Market context as stated by the company

From the Series C release, 2025-10-30:

  • Customs clearance permits (通関許可件数) increased eightfold between 2016 and 2024, which the company attributes to growth in e-commerce and import/export volumes.
  • The company describes trade operations as still analogue and dependent on individual staff (アナログかつ属人的).
  • It names US tariffs and the situation in the Middle East as geopolitical risks increasing supply-chain uncertainty.
  • Stated target: handle 30% of Japan-origin/destination cargo — 5.4 million TEU annually — on Shippio Platform by 2030.

Product

Shippio Platform is the umbrella name introduced with the 2025-03-12 mission/vision update, which also renamed the individual services. Product pages live under service.shippio.io.

Service line-up

Service For What it is Page
Shippio Forwarding Shippers Shippio's own digital forwarding service, with the cloud platform bundled page
Shippio Cargo Shippers Trade management cloud covering cargo handled by any forwarder (launched 2023-01-25 as "Any Cargo") page · 2023-01-25
Shippio Works International logistics operators / forwarders Trade management cloud for the operator side (launched 2024-09-04) page · 2024-09-04
Shippio Clear Customs brokers and forwarders AI customs clearance cloud, launched 2025-09-08, developed with 協和海運 2025-09-08

Feature areas cited on the product pages (Undated; accessed 2026-07-29): automatic vessel tracking with delay alerts; chat and file sharing scoped per shipment; AI-OCR on B/L, invoice and packing list, stated at "97% or higher" reading accuracy; AI invoice-to-purchase-order matching, stated to cut work time by up to 80%; lead-time analytics; quotation and cost simulation. The Forwarding page states 120+ domestic partners and an overseas network across 35+ countries.

Commercialization

Sold as SaaS alongside the company's own forwarding and customs operations, so revenue mixes subscription and transport/clearance work. No comprehensive public price list was found.

  • Shippio Works publishes a price on its product page: ¥80,000/month for up to 50 users, with unlimited external guest invitations and unlimited API connections.
  • Shippio Forwarding's page states the cloud platform is free when the customer uses Shippio's forwarding services.
  • Shippio Cargo and Shippio Clear pricing is not published.
  • Shippio API was made free to platform customers on 2025-07-23.

Reported scale over time

Date Reported figure Source
2019-10-31 108 user companies; import/export operations completed to 30 countries Series A release
2022-07 Shipments 4.3x year-on-year; dealings with locations in 42 countries, approx. 2.5x since 2020; trade work hours reduced by 44.9% on average, 67.9% maximum 6th anniversary infographic
2022-07-31 Orders received (受注高) approx. 4x year-on-year Series B release
2025-01-20 Shippio Works accounts passed 100 PR
2025-03-12 Active users 3.6x in one year; shipment volume handled more than 10x mission/vision update
2025-10-23 Shippio Works adopted by 80+ companies against an initial target of 50; next target 200 companies, described as 35–40% of JIFFA members PR
2025-10-30 Since Series B (2022): net revenue (gross profit) ~20x, containers handled ~35x, platform users ~8x Series C release
Undated; accessed 2026-07-29 1,500+ companies on the platform; Works page states 80+ companies, "15%+ of JIFFA members" service site, Works page

Announced customers and partners

Date Party What was announced
2024-11-27 オーヤマ Any Cargo adopted
2025-01-09 長沼商事 Any Cargo adopted
2025-02-12 Forwarder-PRO System integration with Shippio Works
2025-03-05 ダイフク Any Cargo adopted
2025-04-22 東海 Shippio Cargo adopted
2025-05-19 TTS Shippio Cargo adopted
2025-06-18 CALL&RESPONSE Shippio Forwarding adopted
2025-08-01 ナカ工業 Platform adopted
2025-08-05 三井物産グローバルロジスティクス Shippio Works adopted
2025-08-26 YKK AP Shippio Cargo adopted
2025-11-17 セイノーホールディングス Began accepting secondees
2025-11-20 アイシン Shippio Cargo vessel tracking data used for logistics visibility
2025-12-11 住友理工 Shippio Cargo adopted
2025-12-22 東京海上日動 Insurance agency contract
2026-02-17 ロゴスコーポレーション Shippio Cargo adopted
2026-02-26 ゴンチャ ジャパン Shippio Cargo adopted
2026-04-07 アナナスジャパン Shippio Platform adopted
2026-04-21 MLIT Cyber Port / NACCS Integration announced (see Engineering)
2026-05-19 シネジック Platform adopted
2026-06-02 UCC上島珈琲 Forwarding + Cargo adopted
2026-06-15 三菱自動車 Shippio Cargo adopted
2026-07-02 日本サニパック Shippio Cargo adopted

The company has also participated in METI's 貿易プラットフォーム利活用推進検討会 (2024-03-28) and an MLIT trade-DX exchange (2025-01-23), and announced a preparatory committee for an industry body promoting trade-DX standardization (2026-05-14).

Stated plans

From the Series C release (2025-10-30), funds are allocated to: (1) product development, with the internal logistics operations team and the group customs broker feeding the development team; (2) AI, via a newly established AI Advanced Lab, first applied to the company's own logistics operations before being reflected into products; (3) further M&A; (4) organization building toward 300 people in three years, across sales, CS, business development, PdM, product design, engineering, HR and corporate. The release states approximately 20 positions were open at the time.

Longer-term target: continuous 2x growth in net revenue and 30% of Japan-origin/destination cargo (5.4 million TEU/year) on the platform by 2030.


Founder

佐藤 孝徳 (Takanori Sato) — co-founder, 代表取締役 CEO (company page).

土屋 隆司 — co-founder; described as 代表取締役副社長 at founding, also ex-Mitsui & Co. (BRIDGE, 2017-05, 2017-05-08 release photo caption). He is not listed on the current company page, which names 佐藤 as sole representative.

Leadership listed in the company introduction deck (version dated 2025-10-30)

Name Role as written Stated background
佐藤 孝徳 代表取締役 CEO Mitsui & Co.
阪 茉紘 VP of Strategy P&G Japan, McDonald's Japan, Plaid (executive officer 2021)
伊井 壮太郎 Director of Product LINE, Mercari, Pokémon
Felix Küppers VP of Engineering Full-stack engineer; CTO/CEO at a maritime cloud ERP company; relocated to Japan 2022, joined Shippio 2023
丹羽 剛 VP of Finance Nomura Securities, US investment fund, CFO at a space startup; Wharton MBA
伊達 雄介 VP of HR En Japan, Bengo4.com executive officer
井上 裕史 VP of Business Mitsubishi UFJ Securities, Green, WealthNavi, Medley

Separately announced appointments: Ryan O'Connor as CTO on 2022-11-18 (career listed as DivX 2001, @WalmartLabs 2011, Rakuten 2012, Mercari 2019, Merlogi CTO 2021); 伊達 雄介 (VP of HR) and 丹羽 剛 (VP of Finance) on 2024-01-10; 阪 茉紘 (VP of Strategy) on 2026-01-20, stated to have joined in November 2025. Outside directors: 南 良平 of Globis Capital Partners from the Series A (2019-11-11), and 湯浅 エムレ 秀和 of Globis Capital Partners from 2024-09-11. Raksul CTO 泉 雄介 became a technical advisor on 2021-11-16.

The president of subsidiary 協和海運 has been appointed from Shippio twice: 井上 on 2024-09-02 and 松本, a Shippio group licensed customs specialist, on 2025-09-19.

The deck also states an average employee age of 35.3 and that 40% of employees have children.


Funding

Date Round (company's wording) Amount Investors Cumulative Source
2017-05-08 第三者割当増資 (as サークルイン株式会社) not disclosed 500 Startups Japan, YJキャピタル, イーストベンチャーズ — PR TIMES
2018-12-03 第三者割当増資 ¥190M 500 Startups Japan, グロービス・キャピタル・パートナーズ, DBJキャピタル, YJキャピタル, East Ventures, 2 individual investors — BRIDGE
2019-11-11 シリーズA ¥1.06B アンカー・シップ・パートナーズ, 環境エネルギー投資, グロービス・キャピタル・パートナーズ, DBJキャピタル, Delight Ventures, East Ventures, Sony Innovation Fund, YJキャピタル, 500 Startups Japan 資本金 ¥651.22M at the time Shippio
2022-09-27 シリーズB (第三者割当増資及び融資等) ¥1.65B New: DNX Ventures, Spiral Innovation Partners, 東京海上日動火災保険, みずほキャピタル, あおぞら企業投資. Existing: デライト・ベンチャーズ, 環境エネルギー投資, ソニーベンチャーズ, アンカー・シップ・パートナーズ approx. ¥3B Shippio
2025-10-30 シリーズC ¥3.24B (equity ¥1.87B + debt ¥1.37B) Equity: DNX Ventures (lead), 環境エネルギー投資, 鈴与 (new), New Commerce Ventures (new), YMFGキャピタル (new), デライト・ベンチャーズ, あおぞら企業投資, Spiral Innovation Partners. Debt: 商工組合中央金庫, 日本政策金融公庫, みずほ銀行, 三菱UFJ銀行, りそな銀行 他 approx. ¥7B Shippio, PR TIMES

Round labels above follow the company's own releases. The company's own 2017 and 2018 releases use only 第三者割当増資; BRIDGE (2017-05) labelled the 2017 round a seed round. DNX Ventures led both Series B and Series C (Series B, Series C); 環境エネルギー投資, デライト・ベンチャーズ, あおぞら企業投資 and Spiral Innovation Partners appear in both. In the Series C release, New Commerce Ventures' partners state that Shippio was a portfolio company at their previous firm, Z Venture Capital. YJキャピタル, named in the 2017, 2018 and Series A rounds, does not appear in the Series B or Series C releases.

Two rounds were announced alongside product or corporate events: the Series B with the launch of "Any Cargo" and, on the same day, the acquisition of 協和海運; the Series C with a full relaunch of the recruiting site.


Engineering

Technology stack and platforms

Inferred from job postings, the tech blog index, and the TokyoDev profile; labelled as inferred.

The Back-End Engineer posting lists "Claude/AI" among the tools in use.

Systems

System What it does Source
Vessel tracking Automatic vessel-movement and ETD/ETA updates across carriers, using logic the company states it built from running its own forwarding operations. Works page claims roughly a 90% cut in time spent confirming vessel status. Works page
Pre-departure early tracking Detects international shipping delay risk before departure. 2026-06-12
Air cargo tracking Automatic tracking for air freight, following acquisition of an international air cargo licence in 2024-11-21. 2026-03-02
AI-OCR Reads B/L, invoice and packing list, stated at 97%+ accuracy, with auto-calculation and error checking; a rule auto-learning function was added in 2026-04, and coverage extended to cost-related documents in 2026-05. 2025-04-04, 2025-08-12, 2026-04-01, 2026-05-08
AI invoice matching Matches purchase order content against invoice data; stated up to 80% reduction in work time. 2025-11-18
AI shipment creation Parses email bodies and attached PDFs to extract management number, ports, Incoterms and other fields, and registers the shipment. 2026-05-21
AI billing-item tagging Classifies billing line items whose naming differs by provider, outputs one row per line as CSV with currency conversion to yen. 2026-07-28
Shippio Clear AI customs clearance: OCR of non-standardized trade documents, auto-calculation and checks, conversion to NACCS declaration format including HS codes and origin, one-click export. Stated 70% efficiency improvement, validated with 協和海運; sea import first, sea export and air planned. 2025-09-08
Multi-layer AI agents A "commander" agent that interprets inbound customer communications and routes them to specialist teams — stated at ~70% automatic routing — with "specialist" agents executing standardized tasks, stated up to 90% automation on specific processes. Human approval is retained over outputs. PC-Webzine (JA)
Shippio API REST. POST to register shipments; GET for vessel movement/ETD/ETA, in-transit goods and arrival forecasts, partner information, and master data (ports, vessels, carriers). Credentials issued from the product settings screen; free to platform customers since 2025-07. product page, docs on Stoplight, 2024-05-07
File integration API Automatic exchange of trade document data with a customer's own core systems. 2026-01-14
Cyber Port / NACCS integration Uses Cyber Port's NACCS integration API for bidirectional data flow between Shippio Platform and NACCS. The company notes MLIT updated the Cyber Port terms on 2026-04-16 to permit this. 2026-04-21

Architecture history. A Speaker Deck presentation dated 2022-12-01 describes a migration from a monolithic Rails application to a service-oriented architecture unified behind Apollo Federation, with new services in Go, a multi-account AWS setup, and a move from Terraform to CDK. The project ran September 2021 to August 2022; the deck states the engineering team was around 8 people at the time, targeting roughly 20 after the Series B. A Japanese summary of the same migration is on the company's note.

The company runs an English-language Tech Blog on Medium, with sections for Frontend, Backend, Infrastructure, QA and Organization and an index of past posts on note. The four most recent posts shown on the recruiting site are dated 2025-08-05, 2025-07-11, 2025-03-25 and 2025-03-05.

Technical background sought

The Back-End Engineer posting prefers cloud-infrastructure experience on AWS or GCP and experience translating business requirements into architecture. The QA posting prefers testing experience on web ERP products; its responsibilities cover test planning, automation and quality improvement for the platform. Logistics background is preferred rather than required. No posting reviewed asks for blockchain, crawling or real-time trading experience.

Industry domain

International freight forwarding and customs clearance — bills of lading, commercial invoices, packing lists, Incoterms, HS codes and origin rules, FCL/LCL ocean freight and air freight, carrier schedules and vessel movements, and the Japanese government systems NACCS and Cyber Port. The company holds forwarding licences itself and owns a customs broker, and the Series C release describes the pairing of an in-house logistics operations team and group customs company with the development team as its distinguishing characteristic.

On whether domain knowledge is a prerequisite, the recruit FAQ states that many members had not worked in trade or international logistics before, that industry knowledge can be picked up after joining, and that about 50% of employees became interested in the trade industry only after starting the selection process. The QA Engineer posting lists a logistics background as preferred, not required.

Working conditions

Item Detail Source
Working language Engineering team communicates mainly in English; product roles use English with engineers and Japanese within their own team; business teams use Japanese. English is stated as not mandatory, with in-house language learning support recruit FAQ
Language by posting Back-End Engineer: English required, Japanese welcome but not mandatory. Front-End Engineer: Japanese not required, business English required. QA Engineer: Japanese proficiency required, basic English backend, front-end, QA
Working time system Flextime for business roles; 専門業務型裁量労働制 (discretionary work) for product and development roles. Back-End posting states 9:00–18:00 with flexibility and "meeting friendly hours" recruit FAQ, posting
Remote FAQ: remote work combined with team-by-team office attendance. Back-End posting: up to 4 days remote per week. TokyoDev: remote in principle, office once per week. Japan Dev: mostly remote, mandatory Tuesdays in office, must live within commuting distance of the Tokyo office FAQ, posting, TokyoDev, Japan Dev
Location Tokyo HQ (Shibaura) and Osaka branch (WeWork, Namba SkyO) company page
Visa The Front-End Engineer posting states no visa sponsorship and Japan residents only Japan Dev
Salary The QA Engineer posting gives ¥5,000,000–¥7,200,000; the Back-End and Front-End postings do not disclose a range QA, backend
Equity Stock option scheme exists; details given during the selection process recruit FAQ
Leave and probation 120+ days off per year, weekends off, sick leave, maternity/paternity and childcare leave, marriage/bereavement leave; 3-month trial period posting
Benefits Relocation assistance and short-distance housing stipend, language learning support; new equipment, conference and seminar attendance, book purchases, childcare flexible hours, social insurance, commuter allowance posting, Japan Dev
Development process Scrum, two-week sprints (occasionally one week) as described in a 2021 engineer interview; the Back-End posting refers to sprint planning and stand-ups 2021-11-15 interview, posting

Notes

Not publicly disclosed

Search scope for the findings below (2026-07-29): the corporate, service and recruiting sites and their press, product, FAQ and careers indexes; Shippio, 株式会社Shippio and former-name searches in Japanese and English; current and archived HERP, TokyoDev and Japan Dev roles; Stoplight documentation; GitHub organisation/name/domain searches; security registries and funding databases.

  • Salary bands. Only the QA Engineer posting publishes a range (¥5,000,000–¥7,200,000). The Back-End Engineer posting states salary is discussed at interview; the Front-End Engineer listing on Japan Dev shows no range.
  • Current engineering headcount. The company does not publish one. The most specific figures found are the TokyoDev profile ("about 60 people with 20 engineers"; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29) and the 2022-12 SOA deck (~8 engineers at the time, targeting ~20); neither establishes the current count.
  • Revenue. Reported only as multiples (net revenue ~20x since 2022), never in absolute terms.
  • Pricing for Shippio Cargo, Shippio Forwarding as a standalone product, and Shippio Clear. Only Shippio Works publishes a price.
  • Open source. The GitHub organization shippio has 5 public repositories, 4 of which are forks (wkhtmltopdf_binary_gem, ghost-website, evil-seed, gqlgen). The single original repository, slack-tech-support-recorder, was last pushed 2023-01-29. The company was a Platinum sponsor of RubyKaigi 2023 and won Ruby biz Grand prix 2022.
  • Status page or published SLA. None found.
  • Turnover figures. Not published.

Inconsistencies across sources

  • Capital: ¥840M including capital reserve (company page; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29); ¥2.19B (PR TIMES company profile; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29); ¥1.41B including reserve (HERP; Undated; accessed 2026-07-29); ¥1.34B (6th anniversary infographic, 2022-07); ¥651.22M (Series A release, 2019-11). The figures are not monotonically increasing, and the sources do not state whether they refer to 資本金 alone or 資本金+資本準備金 consistently.
  • Registered address: the PR TIMES company profile box still lists 浜松町ビルディング15階, although the company announced its move to BLUE FRONT SHIBAURA TOWER S on 2025-09-01. Both addresses are in 芝浦一丁目1番1号.
  • Working language: the recruit FAQ says English is not mandatory; Japan Dev describes it as an "English-only workplace" that "does not require Japanese skills"; the QA Engineer posting requires Japanese proficiency, and the new-graduate product posting requires native-level Japanese.
  • Remote policy: "up to 4 days remote per week" (Back-End posting) versus "office once per week" (TokyoDev) versus "mandatory Tuesdays in office" (Japan Dev) versus "remote combined with team-by-team attendance" (FAQ).
  • Engineering leadership title: Ryan O'Connor was announced as CTO on 2022-11-18; the company introduction deck (version dated 2025-10-30) lists Felix Küppers as VP of Engineering and does not list a CTO, while the Front-End Engineer posting still names a "CTO and CEO interview" as the final loop stage. No release announcing a change of CTO was found.
  • ISO 27001 validity: the 2023-05-31 release states a validity period to 2026-05-25; the ISMS registry entry for JQA-IM2002 shows validity to 2029-05-25 under JIS Q 27001:2025 (ISO/IEC 27001:2022+Amd 1:2024). The registry scope reads 国際物流プラットフォームの企画・開発・運営・販売; the 2023 release read デジタルフォワーディングサービスの企画・開発・運営・販売.
  • Country coverage: 42 countries as of July 2022 (infographic, Series B) versus "35+ countries" of overseas network on the Forwarding page (Undated; accessed 2026-07-29). The two figures measure different things (locations dealt with versus network coverage) and neither page defines its terms.
  • Shippio Works adoption: the 2025-10-23 release states 80+ companies, "the majority of which are JIFFA members," with a next target of 200 described as 35–40% of JIFFA members; the Works product page (Undated; accessed 2026-07-29) still states 80+ companies and "15%+ of JIFFA members."

Other

  • The business is not pure SaaS: the company holds first- and second-class freight forwarding licences and an air cargo licence, runs its own forwarding operations, owns a customs broker outright, and became a registered insurance agency in December 2025. The Series C release names further M&A as a use of funds.
  • The 協和海運 acquisition (2022-09-27, 100% of shares; the target was founded 1960 and based in Yokohama) has been the subject of several public retrospectives by the company and its investors: Coral Capital (JA), note (JA), MAcloud journal (JA).
  • Product naming changed on 2025-03-12, when "Any Cargo" became "Shippio Cargo" and the Shippio Platform umbrella was introduced alongside a new mission (産業の転換点をつくる) and vision (国際物流を、アドバンストに). Releases from 2024 and early 2025 still use the old names.
  • Of the 20 most recent items on the company's press index as of 2026-07-29, 10 are trade-show exhibition announcements.
  • The API reference is published openly on Stoplight, but the product pages themselves do not link to it; the Shippio API product page directs readers to a contact form instead.
  • The company's own press index lags PR TIMES by a few hours to a few days for the newest items; both were checked for this page.

Resources

Official

Press releases (shippio.io, JA — newest first)

PR TIMES (JA)

Third-party coverage and profiles